vernon god little by dbc pierre

August 25, 2010, 8:04am
In-transit to work

I finished Vernon God Little. Finally after 3 months.

VGL is surprisingly romantic in its own filthy hormonal teenager way. And it is actually feel-good despite the supposedly heavy themes.

I was particularly in awe of the writing style. I loved the angsty bordering philosophical tone he used for Vernon, who was a victim of his efforts to deviate from the discriminating status quo.

Here are some of the lines I enjoyed:

p 148 ~ “Where TV lets you down, I’m discovering, is by not convincing you how things really work in the world”
TV is a simulated reality.
But reality is not simulated TV.
Media messes with our mind too much.

p 163 ~ attaching a song to a particular moment:
“I don’t even know the words to the song. But you can bet I’ll spend the next 80 years in hell making every line fit my situation.”
This happens to me ridiculously often, and here DBC Pierre was successful as a writer in making the reader empathize with Vernon.
My personal experience with aurally-induced time-traveling emotions: I associate the song Morning Elegance with hangover and heartache. I cannot help but feel remorse for myself every time I hear that song. -_-

p 197 ~ part when Vernon declared that the on-lookers/ non-victims have the “tickly kind of luxury deciding whether to be sympathetic or devastated, or not even pay attention at all, the way people do when shit happens that doesn’t involve them.”
The HK tourists hostage mishap was simultaneously happening while I was finishing the book. Then and there was a case in point: I was not directly involved with the tragedy, and I had the luxury of deciding whether I be sympathetic or devastated or not even pay attention at all.

p 260 ~ “Don’t be lookin up the sky for help. Look down here, at us twisted dreamers.”
This was my least favorite of the dog-eared ‘favorite parts’ because I cannot weave my soul unto the sentence. BUT I felt that this was one of the more salient sentences as it was Lasalle’s clincher quotable quote (Lasalle was successfully positioned as “The Wise One”)
Attempt at deconstruction… Is it: you won’t find strength from God. You’ll find strength from poignant twisted yet hopeful dreamers, stuck in the hellhole with you…?

/chronicles of the dogears

Must emphasize that:
The aftertaste was incredible. It flooded my consciousness with feel-good Mexican/ Texan aftertaste, i.e., blistering desert against the vivid blue skies where the fast moving clouds come and go… And in the middle of it all is a sampayan with lacy sultry underwear blown in the wind.

It will blow your mind.
Pramees.

Now go get a copy!

Leave a Reply

